Jogging for fun

 

I went for a jog in Tijuana on Tuesday. Not five seconds into my run, a taco vendor yelled out, “El bano, necesitas el bano?”

He thought I was running to find a bathroom. Apparently, no one in my ‘hood runs for fun. About five minutes into my light, afternoon jog, the cat calls began. Picture the worst construction-guy harrassment you’ve ever experienced, ladies, and multiply that by a million. The machismo part of Mexican culture was at its height — cars honking, dudes whistling, a street vendor with a stare that burned holes into my semi-flabby thighs.

I went on the run because I decided I’m not going to be a big sissy anymore (I was carrying my pepper spray, so don’t worry too much, mom and dad). I also decided I’m going to adapt to Mexican culture, but I’m also going to keep the gringa attributes that I like; jogging, for one, and being a ballsy independent female for another.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jogging for fun

  1. When I looked at your title ‘Jogging for Fun’ I didn’t believe it. Jogging? Fun?
    A mob would have to be after me to make me ‘think’ of running/jogging.

    You go grrl! Run you *ss off! 🙂

    Adrienne Zurub
    http://www.adriennezurub.typepad.com

Leave a Reply

