The nightlife side

I was feeling dirty and depressed Saturday night after a long day of failed apartment searches so I grabbed a book, curled up in bed and was asleep by 10 p.m. At 1 a.m., my phone rang. It was my friend Jorge Tellaeche (one of the best young artists in Tijuana in my opinion) and my friend Jamie Davis who works at the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego.

If you know either one of these two, you know how hard it is to say no. Before I knew it, I was up and out of bed getting dressed for what would be a long night out. See, in Tijuana, the nightlife really doesn’t get going until around midnight. By 2 a.m., the after-party begins, and you typically don’t make it home until the sun comes up — there’s usually a late-night taco session involved somewhere in the mix.

Jorge, Jamie and I stopped by Tentaculo first. It’s a bar promoted by Radio Global, a Tijuana-based Internet radio station, so the DJs are always fantastic. We danced amongst the 18-years-olds, I hit on the bartender (he gave me his myspace page address; what the hell is the dating world coming to?) and by 2:30 a.m. we were ready for the after-party.

We headed to Plaza Fiesta in Zona Rio. Jorge whispered something in Spanish to the bouncer at the famous Tijuana Swiss Bar. The guy opened the gate and we walked upstairs to a salon. The place was packed. There was free booze and food (a tray of marshmellows and a candle by which to roast them was part of the super sweet spread) and music provided by Mark E. Quark, a San Diego DJ who played the funkiest electronic music I’ve ever heard. We danced until 5 a.m. then headed home when we all started feeling a bit puke-ish.

By the end of the night, my depression magically disappeared. I was reminded why I love Tijuana.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Nightlife. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The nightlife side

  1. Jaime Davis says:

    The friendliest kidnapping taken place in tijuana to date. More nights like these to follow…

Leave a Reply

