Expat of the week

Daniel Charles Thomas is a poet who lives in Tijuana and runs his own website and blog, Tijuana Gringo. I asked him why he lives in Tijuana. I think his reply email gets right to the point:

Hi please excuse my slowness in responding I have been not very good at checking my email the last week or so.

I have lived in Tijuana since 1999, for several reasons.

The first reason is that ever since a kid growing up in San Diego in the 60s I was fascinated by our sister city in Mexico. Eventually this grew into a deep affection for Mexico as a whole.

Thus, one reason I live in Tijuana is because it is in Mexico.

A very important reason which most United Statesians have for moving to Mexico, is the lower cost of living. Tijuana is more expensive than other parts of Mexico, but it is still relatively less expensive than San Diego. Relatively with a CAPITAL R.

A third reason is and was my desire to continue to improve my grasp of Spanish, both as a spoken language and a written art.

After moving here, however, I discovered another reason. There is something about the border which I find amazingly attractive and curious. It is a frontier between worlds. So many different people come together here.

Thanks for your interest. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Sincerely

Daniel Charles Thomas



About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Expats. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Expat of the week

  1. Jonhmatter says:

    Nice,thank you very much | http://cuoivobung.net

Leave a Reply

