A connection, mi amigo

Pictures of the border line by Kinsee Morlan

I found the coolest little magazine yesterday. I ordered a chai latte at my favorite little cafe in Zona Rio, then stood there feeling awkward because I was the only customer and there were about 15 employees staring at me. To avoid the awkwardness, I picked up a newspaper and pretended to read it even though I can only read about every third word or so. I was lost in translation as usual until I found a tiny (as in three inch by two inch) magazine called Statt (that’s a link to the Statt editor’s myspace page, I don’t think they have their website up yet).

Statt is in Spanish, too, but it’s easy to understand and it contains an unoficial guide to Tijuana, which I plan on following as soon as I have time. It also has a profile on artists Oslyn Whizar and Edgar Mendoza, a bit of poetry and even a few pages for notas at the end. My favorite part is the mag’s back page, a list of recommended songs to add to your playlist.

The owls go…Architecture in Helsinki

Earth Intruders…Bjork

Yo quiero una morena para mi…Zemmoa

Rehab…Amy Winehouse

Can’t tough this…MC Hammer

All good choices, really.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Art & culture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A connection, mi amigo

  1. Cesar Cruz says:

    what up kinsee, I like your pics a lot. Your a journalist alright. hope everything is good muchacha

Leave a Reply

