At last, the Tijuana bike ride

“His name is Nico” by Kinsee Morlan

I’ve been spending some alone time lately, enjoying my little Tijuana flat and getting some serious writing done. Sometimes, I let my flat become my super secret catacomb — I don’t leave for hours and hours and hours. This weekend was like that, but on Sunday morning I forced myself to get out and go for a bike ride.

Oh. My. Goodness. First off, I don’t have a helmet, which is something that will have to be fixed. You see, riding a bike in Tijuana is a bit like walking blindfolded in the middle of a freeway…while drunk. It’s crazy, dangerous and the amount of obstacles one must overcome is simply astounding.

There aren’t any bike lanes and not much sidewalk space in Tijuana, so most of the time I was riding on the road, blocking trafic and coughing from exhuast and the dust kicked up by speeding cars. When there are sidewalks, they have holes, and not just little cracks or potholes, I’m talking huge, four-feet-deep gaps where sewage grates once were. Inside these holes are piles of trash, so falling in means either certain death or certain disease.

Obstacles aside, the ride was actually pretty cool. Next time, I may consider riding down the cement covered Tijuana River. I hear that’s where the heroin addicts hang out, but how fast can a junkie run?

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At last, the Tijuana bike ride

  1. Jaime says:

    I hate it when you hibernate… *sigh*

  2. Mauricio says:

    Wow Kinsee, what a great blog you have, I just had to comment on it. I had heard of gringos living in Tijuana by choice but I have never met one. Me, I am the yang to your ying: a Mexican who lived in Tijuana most of his life and that recently made his dream of living (legally) in San Diego a reality.

    One of the things I enjoy most of living in SD is that I can ride a bike for fun and fitness whenever I can. I tried riding in Tijuana and it was hard at best and dangerous at times. I did ride on the Tijuana river bed all the way to La Presa a couple of times, with two friends. Fortunately the addicts you mentioned don’t run at all.

    I do have life long friends in TJ and fortunately I can continue seeing them almost as often as always. I can’t imagine leaving them behind, so I see why you were drawn to this city of broken everything.

    One last thing: as you know by now, to really get to know Mexico you’d best try living in one of the older, traditional cities like Guadalajara, Puebla or Guanajuato. Tijuana is indeed like a dream, the others more real.

    I wish to you the best, you are certainly very talented and have a lot going for you.

  3. Give me an old cool bicycle, and I’ll ride around the city for days.

Leave a Reply

