Dreaming of death

Okay, this is the one and only time I’m going to write about a dream. Maybe it was the homemade veggie burrito I ate before drifting off to sleep, but I woke up in the middle of the night with tears streaming down my face and a clear memory of a pretty messed-up dream.

I was, for some reason or another, sentenced to death by the US government.  I went all the way to Washington, D.C., to try to plead my case with Mr. George Bush himself, but he just wouldn’t see things my way.  Instead, I was captured and sent back to California where I was put in the electric chair of all things.  I mean, I didn’t even get the pleasure (or displeasure depending on your thoughts on how humane the death cocktail really is) of being put to death by lethal injection.

I wish I could say I was stoic in my last few minutes of life, but I wasn’t.  I was sobbing and begging for my life.  It was pretty pathetic and I woke up with a real sense of shame.  In real life, if the US government ever sentences me to death, I hope I’ll go out like a punk-rock radical and maybe flip-off the death spectators or say something extremely clever just before I sink into death.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreaming of death

  1. Adam V says:

    That reminds me of a joke I heard recently:

    “If I ever get sentenced to the electric chair, my last meal will be a bag of raw popcorn.”

    Now THAT is what I call punk rock.

  2. Ray Stehlik says:

    I read your article, I think you have nice stories for writing, I have been thinking about moving closer to the south or maybe somewhere in Mexico or south myself! I’m a single DAD with 3 kids, waiting till they finish there schooling before I make the final move. Next year the two oldest twins finish there schooling and that will leave me with one left at home, I’ve been divorced since 2004, My x-wife ran off with another man. Some times life has its down side.

Leave a Reply

