Starbucks crossing lines


To USA by Kinsee Morlan

Starbucks is reportedly heading south, setting up shop in parts of Mexico, including Tijuana. The store is set to open by the end of the summer.

I do hate evil corporations, but I’m not convinced that Starbucks is completely evil just yet. I don’t typically go to Starbucks, mostly because I think their coffee is disgusting, but I understand that independently owned cafes can be just as bad if not worse than big companies. I’ve worked at two independently owned cafes, in San Diego nonetheless, where I was paid under the table. I worked long hours, never got over-time, never got any insurance of any kind, was sexually harassed by my bosses and on and on and on.

Perhaps there are things about Starbucks I don’t know. What I do know is that they pay workers fairly well, offer benefits even for part-time employees and they offer incentives for students.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

