The broken-down palace

“Staring is fun” by Kinsee Morlan

My bf and I are moving to a new place in Tijuana. It’s in Colonia del Rio, which is about five minutes away from both the San Ysidro and Otay ports of entry. You Americanos are going to get upset, but it’s a three-story house and we’ll be paying $375 a month.

“Is it nice?” my mom inquired when I told her about the place.

“Nope,” I answered happily. I live in a third-world country. People just have to come to terms with that. The place is a huge broken-down palace. The first floor is liveable, the three-car garage is nice but the upstairs area is in various states of disarray. I love it! Every square inch of it!

I’m going to use the upstairs area as a gallery. So if any of you artists out there want to have a crazy art show, get in touch with my art-fag crew, Adapta Project, and we’ll set it up. How fun!

UPDATE: We walked into the new place and looked around for a few minutes before we realized our feet and ankles were covered in fleas. And when I say covered I mean completely blackened by a mass of disgusting little blood-thirsty pulgas. We went back to the landlord and demanded our deposit back then returned to our apartment and rearranged the place. I’m in love with the tiny space once again. I’m going to end up living in the famed Estacion Federal forever.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Art & culture, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The broken-down palace

  1. Kia Momtazi says:

    Pinche pulgas! Me gusta tanto estoy con tigo en Tijuana…esta noche no es differente. Tal vez yo regreso el proximo fin de semana? Te amo para siempre!

Leave a Reply

