Photos of Tecate and Mexicali

 

Mexico’s Highway 2 will take you from Tijuana to Tecate and on to Mexicali. The toll road is expensive, about $15 when all is said and done, but the free road is curvy and filled with potholes the size of the Grand Canyon.

So take the the toll road, drive and enjoy. Pictures, mostly of Tecate ’cause I ran out of space on my digital camera by the time we got to Mexicali, are below.

Tecate is a small traditional town about 30 minutes east of Tijuana. My bf and I drove around for a bit but spent most of our time in the park. Everywhere I looked it was as if people were posing for a shot. The below photos are of people in the park:

And on to Mexicali, where I decided to mess with the white balance on my camera AND use a rosy lens I’ve never used before. Bad move. What I was trying to capture was the traditional yet much more cosmopolitan feel of Mexicali. As the capital of Baja California, it’s bigger and busier than Tijuana or Tecate. It’s in the middle of the desert, so even at 8 p.m. at the end of October it was nearly 90 degrees. That said, the food was amazing and so was the Mexicali-brewed beer.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photos of Tecate and Mexicali

  1. Amber says:

    Cool pics! Makes me want to visit Tecate🙂

    Too bad there aren’t more of Mexicali. I’d be interested in seeing those.

Leave a Reply

