Damn.

 

“Why Did The Chicken Cross the Road? Because He was in Tijuana” by Kinsee Morlan

Most people squirm at the thought of visiting Tijuana.  What about the hassle at the border?  What about the corrupt police? And what of the violence and danger?

I like to tell folks that there’s nothing they can’t handle and that the rumors they hear are often untrue and overblown. Tijuana is just like any other city, I tell them, it’s got good parts and bad.  But then reports like this one about a recent string of professional robberies carried out on American tourists  come out, and I’m reminded that I may be a bit naive in my summation.

I guess I’m going to have start telling folks to come, but be careful.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Crime. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Damn.

  1. Antonio says:

    What a load of crap!…like any other city? BS!
    I have been going to mexico since the mid 60’s, but I have not been back for about 15 years…mexico is beyond corrupt, it is a total shit hole, and TJ is one of the most dangerous cities in the world!.
    For you to sugar coat it , and say it is no more dangerous than other cities is a lie, and irresponsible .

Leave a Reply

