Tijuana wants to break me

“Beautiful Destruction” by Kinsee Morlan

Broken glass and a missing orange backpack — that’s what I found a week after my car was stolen and eventually returned. Someone had decided it’d be worth bashing in my car’s back window to nab the backpack filled with dirty clothes that was sitting in the back seat.

I wanted to scream but I laughed instead. And after telling myself I was done with Tijuana and all its bullshit, I finally came to my senses and realized it wasn’t the city’s fault. I shouldn’t have left the backpack in the car. Simple as that.

Now my car has cardboard for a window and a driver’s side door that doesn’t work (battle wounds from the first robbery). It has been Tijuanized. Me? I’m not quite there yet. I’ve learned to use a steering wheel lock and never leave anything in my car. I’ve learned that sometimes people suck. But I’m not completely broken down and battered just yet.

I rode my bike through La Cacho again today and the beauty overwhelmed me. Everything is so textured here — so weathered and worn. Everywhere I look is a picture or a story with paragraphs and paragraphs of history and struggle.

I passed a broken-down public basketball park and thought about the person who pushed to get it built there. How proud she must have been when the cement finally dried and the first kid shot his orange ball through the hoop.

UPDATE: A few days after the stolen backpack incident, I went out to find that someone had broken into my car again.  This time they took the car stereo.    I laughed until I had to ride all the way from Tijuana to Mission Valley without the sounds of my good friend KPBS.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tijuana wants to break me

  1. moih says:

    haha, Tijuanized indeed…

  2. kia says:

    i love your reflections.

  3. Justin says:

    I was in TJ today, touring around with a fellow artist from Ireland. I felt obligated to share this part of San Diego (inclusive) with her. Also reflected at several instances on the value of this blog (in particular) (let me know if there are more english-TJ blogs). Keep it up.

  4. Matt says:

    For what it’s worth, my car has been City Heightsized a couple of times.

    City Heights is kinda textured too, I guess.

  5. chris says:

    on the bright side, your street cred is going through the roof.

    Making sense of things like you do is cool/strong and righteous.

  6. d.a. says:

    This reminds me of when i used to live in the East Village before the ballpark was built. My car was broken into many times, and the stereo was yanked out. After that, I used a transistor radio. I’m glad you haven’t given up on TJ yet.

Leave a Reply

