Outside of my Tijuana apartment

“Afuera” by Kinsee Morlan

Outside of my Tijuana apartment, there’s a taco shop called Jazz Tacos. It’s run by my landlord and his family. The double quesadillas are gooey and delicious.

Outside of my Tijuana apartment lives a group of about a dozen black bunnies. Yes, bunnies. They jump on the streets late at night and eat trash.

Outside of my Tijuana apartment lives a family of hippies who sleep in their old VW van. A cross hangs in the font window and the back window is broken.

Outside of my Tijuana apartment lives a gray and white cat. I feed it dog food when I’m in a good mood.

Outside of my apartment, my landlord’s 2-year-old, Nannette, dances in the driveway. She dances and says, “balando, balando, balando.”

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outside of my Tijuana apartment

  1. juliosueco says:

    I have been meaning to write you. I detected your blog through a picture search about Tijuana. I think you are doing a splendid job in this blog and I certainly have come to look forward to your observations about my city. There isn’t much coming out of Tijuana in English and your take on that is quite the treat indeed. So there, I went and done what I wanted to do.🙂

  2. juliosueco says:

    I don’t see any link on my nickname so here it is in case where the heck did those comments come from.

  3. Sergio says:

    outside of my house, I see kids kicking a soccer ball most of the time, while every once in a while some bozo drives by as fast as his car will allow him. sometimes I wake up to high caliber gun shots, other times, to cars speeding by full throttle, or people wandering in the early morning hours, looking to score crack cocaine,..or looking for something to steal, That’s T.J. life nowadays.

Leave a Reply

