The friction

“Self-built Dreams” by Kinsee Morlan

I’ve been watching a house, a nice house, in Mission Hills for just under a week. I find myself leaving work earlier, laying on the couch in front of the TV more and just generally being lazier than usual.

I blame comfort. There’s something about the friction of Tijuana that keeps me energized and moving at all times. I miss it, and I can’t wait to get home.

I don’t have a television in my home and, until two days ago, I didn’t even have a couch. Tijuana reminds me of New York in the sense that homes are smaller and not as nice and cozy as they are in places like sunny San Diego. It gets you outside. It gets me on my bike and on my feet, wanting to escape the confines of my cement walls and experience the city outside.

I’ve found a few great places just right down the street from me on Agua Caliente Boulevard. There’s a place called Neopop in a tiny upstairs apartment behind an empty storefront. You couldn’t find it on your own even if I gave you explicit directions — believe me, it took me months to finally figure out how to get to the front door.

Inside the store is a little goldmine of Japanese pop-culture knickknacks, movies and art. A cute gay guy runs the place and, both times I’ve been, constantly has a tiny entourage hanging out in the shop.

On another one of my walks, I came across Baja Burger, which is located in a strip mall off of Agua Caliente near the Calimax. I wish I could provide a link or contact info, but you know how TJ is — sometimes you just have to discover things on your own.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The friction

  1. paloma says:

    Hello, as i was reading your posts i began wondering if you plan to do something with them, like publishing them somewhere else. Or, perhaps, you’re just documenting these episodes of your life.
    I think is interesting you’re willing to experience a culture that (even beeing so near to the US) a lot of people run from.

    Enjoy TJ.

Leave a Reply

