Stolen pipes

“Mmm…chocolate” by Kinsee Morlan

I’ve heard of this happening in Tijuana — copper pipes getting stolen from construction sites and even homes.

So, I wasn’t too surprised when I came home yesterday to find that the copper tube that pumps gas to my apartment was stolen. No hot water or cooking for me! I’m on day four of that sort of third-world fun.

Again, though, this is something that is partly my fault in a way. I was watching a house in San Diego for a week and forgot to pay my gas bill. The gas company cut my gas off and took my meter, leaving the copper pipe exposed and prime for the taking.

I am often late paying my bills. See, in TJ the mail system doesn’t operate very well, so all bills must be paid in person. It’s a bitch, to say the least, especially when you don’t know where the hell you’re going. It took me months to figure out where to pay my electricity and I still don’t know where to pay my water bill. It sounds pathetic and ridiculous, I know, but when you work full-time, and the water, gas and electricity facilites are only open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., it’s hard to find the time. Arg. I could get frustrated, but I won’t. Living in Tijuana was my choice.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stolen pipes

  1. Rotarypot says:

    You can find a very through list of the places where you can pay your water bill at this link

    http://www.cespt.gob.mx/recaudadoras/lugares_pagar.htm

    Some are the usual places (supermarkets, banks and such) and some are 24 Hr automated tellers, you can even pay it online.

    Cheers!

  2. matttttt says:

    i know a plumber

  3. goyo says:

    I recommend Calimax for paying your gas, electric and phone line/internet bills. The only thing is that you must pay it 2 or 3 days BEFORE the deadline on the bill.

    (You pay Gas and Electric at the cash register and they have an automatic teller for the phone bill).

    The one I use is Calimax Hipodromo and the only problem I’ve had there is that once in a while the Telnor teller is out of service or being serviced, but that’s about it.

  4. Audrey says:

    Dang girl, I thought weird things happened to me??? We don’t live that far apart, but that’s crazy. I hate not being able to pay online for all my stuff too! I can’t even pay the cable on line, that’s ridiculous. I think you can but not with us cards.

  5. ziazia says:

    You can also pay your bills before the deadline at any Oxxo, and a handfull of them in La Cacho are opened 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

