Just a dream, just a dream

Last night, I dreamed that the narrow cement wall and walkway behind my house, which I sadly pretend is my “outdoor patio,” was torn down to reveal a rolling yard of bright green bushy grass.

My family happened to be visiting, so my sister and I set up the new-found backyard with lawn furniture, outdoor Christmas lights and a wobbly plastic white picket fence surrounding it all.

I woke up half believing that when I walked outside to put my laundry in the washer, I would find my new, very American surrounds.

But alas, reality set in and I squeezed my way between the barren cement wall and the one single small table I was barely able to fit out there in order to jam my dirty clothes into the machine. I got a few flea bites on my calf whilst outside and the memory of the dream only served to piss me off.

The most hilarious part of the dream is the white picket fence. Not even in my dreams is the thing real — instead, it’s a cheap plastic imitation knock-off that my sister and I could barely get to stand up on its own.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a dream, just a dream

  1. Derrik says:

    Can I do laundry at your place this weekend? I can pay you.

Leave a Reply

