Human sardines

“All in a Day’s Work” by Kinsee Morlan

This morning, my car pool from Tijuana got called into secondary inspection. My driving companion and I watched as Border Patrol agents slowly drove a small green four-doored car in front of us. A drug dog one Border Agent was playing with started going nuts and nosing the trunk of the green car.

“I hope we at least get to see a big drug bust,” said my driving companion.

But alas, it wasn’t a drug bust. Instead of pounds and pounds of marijuana, what came out of the trunk of the car shocked the hell out of me. Not one, not two, not three, but four adults crawled out of the trunk, sweaty and rubbing their eyes since they’d likely been crammed inside for over two hours.

People must make it through every day; otherwise, why would they subject themselves to the crowded and hot trunk of a car? The coyote who owned the green car didn’t make it — perhaps he was nervous and the Border Agent could tell, or maybe he was the subject of a random check like me and my friend — but I’m willing to bet that the old humans-in-trunk bit actually works from time to time.

You can read my driving companion’s account of things here.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Border issues. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Human sardines

  1. lagringaadventurera says:

    you know them denying me my sentri almost makes me want to take a couple people underneath my seat, just cuz, isn’t that terrible???? Never even entertained the thought until they denied me.

  2. beam says:

    Saludos, buen blog. SD City Beat trae articulos que me gustan, especialmente los de música y los cartones de Tom Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

