The world is trying to break me

“The Leaning Tower of Booze” by Kinsee Morlan

Life without a car in Southern California is impossible. Life without a car when you work in Southern California but live in Tijuana is even less possible.

My engine blew up a few days ago. My life feels like it’s blowing up, too. But before you tell me to stop being a whiny pussy, let me squeeze in a few more complaints.

First off, I recently got audited. Yep, the IRS does actually care about the money you make, even if it’s less than 30,00 a year. I guess I learned that the hard way. Now I owe money, and I can add that to the increasing number that is not unlike the National Debt. Seriously, student loans are sucking my blood. Credit cards are eating my soul and now the IRS is munching on my heart.

Living in debt is the American way, but it’s finally hit the point where I feel like it’s hopeless. I’m tempted to drive down the coast of Baja California and never come back. First, of course, I’ll pull out a molar and fake my death. That seems more logical than actually attempting to pay off my debt.

As if that crap weren’t enough, the Border Patrol agent in the Sentri line almost took my Sentri card away. As my friend put it, it’s amazing how techonologically savvy credit cards companies are, but our own government still can’t figure this whole internet thing out. My card was stolen, I reapplied for a new card, they issued me a new card, but the system still thinks it was stolen. Awesome. So let me just drive out to Otay when I don’t have a car and waste an hour or two explaining how this mixup isn’t my fault. Sounds fun, doesn’t it?

I’m going to get a new car, but getting the new registration and plates and insurance and then taking it back out to Sentri so they can approve it just seems so freaking daunting. I hate beauracracy. I hate lines and official forms and my life, at least for the next month, will be filled with them.

And on top of all this crap, I have crap in my lungs and nose and throat. I went to the doctor after two weeks of it and she said I’d be fine. It’s been a week. I’m still not fine. I’d like to stop choking on phlegm if it’s at all possible. Thanks for nothing, doc.

Yes, there are starving babies in Africa. My life isn’t so bad, I know, but now and again I’m allowed to bitch.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The world is trying to break me

  1. Marcela says:

    Bitch all you want, we are allowed! Just remember every time that you do you aren’t lugging 3 kids with you around TJ, like most women with no car. You will automatically feel better, I always do.

  2. lagringaadventurera says:

    ah come on slum with me in the normal line I leave at 8am and get to work at 11 am you’ll love it!!!!!!

  3. Julio Sueco says:

    Bitch on. Another blessing is that you are not in Sweden and sick. Here you need a prescription for penicillin. There is no over the counter drugs at all to speak of and the doctor won’t see you unless you making out with la calaquita.

  4. budge says:

    heya kinz, just found your blog. its been way too long but hope to be back in tijuana sometime soon, for now its l.a./australia/tucson though…

  5. Kim says:

    Hi Kinsee,

    I’m a local SD artist and have meant to post to say I always enjoy reading your articles in CityBeat and your blog. I think the creative energy in Tijuana is really amazing, and it’s great that someone from SD is interested in that aspect of the city. (I go down from time to time, but don’t know anyone there, and my Spanish sucks). I really feel for your situation–it can be very difficult to try to survive as a creative person. You have my sympathy and all I can say is…I hope you get a break soon.

  6. Josh says:

    I am sorry that you are getting hit from all sides right now. I feel your pain. I feel the same way, would you believe it? I was starting to get some of my debt inline when I was carted off to county for 2 months on a DUI. By the time I got out, I was no longer getting requests for payments, I was getting demands for payment in full.

    I do know that through all this shit, there are some things worth doing, and it sounds like you still find some time to do those things to. Next time however, I would take it easy on the brownies.

    I am currently looking forward to 4th of July, because I love to celebrate our indpendence from the english, GO AMERICA! Ok, I am lying, sort of. 4th of July is a special holiday for me and my freinds and we always go BIG! You are totaly invited to join and I promise it will be an amazing day. The people we roll with are incredible.

    Virtual Hug!

Leave a Reply

