Gas is cheaper in Tijuana

“Saints Everywhere” by Kinsee Morlan

That’s right: Gas is about 8 pesos a liter, which makes it approximately $3.30 a gallon. I’ve been going to Mexico with my parents since I was just a wee girl, and, if my memory of high gas prices in Mexico serves me correctly, I believe this is the first time this has ever happened.

And before you start blabbing on about how crappy Mexican gas is, give me a specific example of your car breaking down because of it. Until then, I will continue filling up in TJ because, aside from the cheaper prices, they have people who pump your gas for you and most of the time those people are wearing cute little uniforms that involve plastic red hats that make them look like Mario from Mario Brothers.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life, News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gas is cheaper in Tijuana

  1. Derrik says:

    They DO look like Super Mario in those little uniforms, don’t they? I can’t believe I didn’t make that connection. Touché, Kinz. Touché.

  2. memho says:

    there’s a dicho, litros de 900, that mean they charge you a liter, but they give you 900 ml, and yes, the car don’t break, but there’s a lot of difference between the gas on the us and mexico.

Leave a Reply

