The viral disconnect

“Invisible Princesses” by Kinsee Morlan

So, I’ve been disconnected from my blog for days now and I’m starting to experience major withdrawals. I suppose it’s my huge ego feeling like it’s alone and insignificant again.

Anyway, the reason for the unwanted disconnection from my beloved blog is a crazy computer virus I got late the other night when I was using MSN messenger to chat with my Mexican friends. Let me just get this out of the way before I dive in to explaining the virus — the phenomena that is MSN and other methods of online instant messaging is not strictly a Mexican thing; however, I never ever used it until I started meeting Mexican friends. I suppose the love of instant messaging is related to the Nextel radio. Jesus, I guess I’ll have to explain that, too — I never knew what a Nextel radio was until I moved to Tijuana. But everyone and their mother uses these things down here. The “beep, beep, beep” they make can be heard in taco stands, in line at grocery stores and virtually in the open streets. People hold them away from their ears and scream into them, then comes the next succession of beeps signaling they’re done saying what they needed to say.

If you hate PUC (Public Use of Cellphones), you’d absolutely die if you witnessed PUR (Public Use of Radios).

So the things are annoying and seemingly not as reliable as normal cellphones, which gets me to my point. Regular cellphones just aren’t as common as they are in the U.S. (because for some reason, most likely financial, the radio has become an accepted, however half-assed mode of communication), Mexican friends rely on the internet as one of the main (if not THE main, in some groups of friends) way to chat.

So there it is. My long drawn-out explanation as to why I was using messenger late the other night and why, when a friend of a friend of a friend from Mexico sent me a photo download I went ahead and clicked on it, instantaneously infecting my laptop (which is my best friend these days) with a virus that does many strange things, including not letting me get on certain websites; mainly and most importantly, Google, Myspace and almost every blog program in existence.

It’s been hell, my friends, but hopefully my new friends over on Twitter will come through for me and get my laptop running as good as new.

Oh, and don’t even ask me about the Twitter phenomena. You’ll likely get a dissertation in response. If you want to be my Twitter friend, however, click here.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The viral disconnect

  1. cleo says:

    What a wonderful eye you have

  2. beam says:

    Already linked your blog, holla!

  3. acearley says:

    So true about those annoying Nextel beeps. I stand guilty! But I try and keep the volume low.

  4. Pingback: Can you hear me now? « Across the border

Leave a Reply

