Gente Bien San Diego

Photo from Gente Bien San Diego

Photo from Gente Bien San Diego

Warning:  I will be making fun of upper-class Tijuanenses in this post:

The society pages in Tijuana papers and magazines are still thick. Why?  I’ll tell you why:  Rich Tijuanenses love to see themselves and their families and friends in print.  See, the class structure in Tijuana is still in full effect. It’s the haves and the have nothings, and the haves love to show off exactly how much they have.

Seriously, if I have to skim through pages and pages of quinceanera and weddings photos one more  time, I may just explode like a pinata after Uncle Tito finally gets a go.

Gente Bien San Diego‘s business model is based on this idea of upper-class Mexican vanity.  Check it out and see if you can find anything remotely resembling editorial that does not involve a photo of a rich person and a cutline saying how wonderful they are.

Of course, we here in San Diego aren’t off the self-loving hook. We have 944, Riviera and San Diego Magazine, all of which depend on these high-class society pics to increase their pickup.

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Art & culture, Border issues, Life, News. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gente Bien San Diego

  1. Dona Junta says:

    I am very surprised this class exists being all the corruption, kidnapping and drug traffiking going on on the other side of the boarder, I thought I read many well off people moved to San Diego?

  2. cleo says:

    Kind of sad, no?

  3. don says:

    I like your writing… as i read your blog often… but this post disappoints me… who cares if people like to see themselves in print or what have you… thats their choice… you post pictures of freaks dressed in weird clothing that listen to weird music because they are “unique” and “truly cool” but that all really just depends on the social circle… to each their own… and instead of just mocking fun at how sad these people are because they love to see themselves in print… why not practice some journalism and research an actual story as to why this is… just like you visit all of these eclectic art, music and whatever events you should visit one of those events in gente bien so that you can actually see what the deal is and then write about it….

    i enjoy your blog very much

  4. Moujan says:

    Dear Kinsee:

    I stumbled into your blog and have been mesmerized by it. I really commend you for your unique move to Tijuana. Just want to let you know that you are the age of my daughter, so I am just attracted to what is going on in your mind.

    I am not from this part of the world. I come from Tierra de Terroristas (Iran) and have lived in San Diego since the mid-1970s. Tijuana has been an inseparable part of my daily life for the passed 25 years. I deal with everyone from the Gente Bien to the lowest of the lows in that society. I am an immigration advocate in Chula Vista. If you have time someday and wish to share stories, send me an email.

    Cheers…… moujan

  5. Sarah says:

    looks like these women have had some tijuana discounts on face lifts if you know what i mean!!!

Leave a Reply

