Baja Vacations: Punta Banda

Punta Banda is a three-restaurant no-hotel kind of town. The main attraction is La Bufadora, a pseudo geyser in the ocean that’s really just a spurt of water caused by waves hitting underwater rocks.   My BF and I scoped out the scene last week and made sure we’d be able to easily find the casa my family and I are renting over Thanksgiving weekend.

We only got lost once, and, believe it or not, someone pulled up behind us, asked who we were looking for (I gave them the name of the owner of the house) and they were like, “Oh yeah, we know her. Follow us.”

I’m in love with the place already, but I’m sure I’ll have more to say when we return. So far, we plan on doing a lot of hanging out, a little going out (we definitely have to check out the new Rincon del Parque restaurant, which is owned by the same people who run Laja), and maybe even a bit of sightseeing, which includes going to the real Hussong’s, the birthplace of the margarita.

Have I mentioned how much I love Mexico lately?   Have I told anyone yet about my next tattoo?  It’ll be the Tijuana Zebra with “I Heart TJ” written underneath.  Pretty sweet, huh?

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Art & culture, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

