Asshole Americans

Hussongs Mariachi Man by Kinsee Morlan

"Hussong's Mariachi Man" by Kinsee Morlan

I just had to delete a comment that said this:  “No one cares about Tijuana. Fuck you.”  Sadly, this is a sentiment I sometimes feel 90 percent of the United States population would agree with.

An insignificant percentage of people who do care, though, came down for my birthday this weekend.  We bought kitschy gifts for friends, had a wonderful lunch at Cafe La Especial on Revolucion and saw some art shows at Lui Velazquez and La Casa Del Tunel.

Here’s some of the visual  highlights:

About Kinsee Morlan

Arts and web editor at San Diego CityBeat. Interested in art and the Tijuana/San Diego border.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Asshole Americans

  1. Jamie Ortiz says:

    That’s messed up that someone left a message like that. It’s a sad state when people forget to care about our friends just a few miles south of us. I’m always jealous of countries in Europe where people can go any direction and experience a different culture. My favorite benefit of living in San Diego is that an entire world of different culture lives within a short drive of my home. While so many states are landlocked American, I can leave for a short weekend and feel a million miles away. I love Tijuana for that.

  2. Randy Sandberg says:

    Hopefully the percentage is far below the 90 percent that your guess suggests. People that leave comments like that are cowards to begin. They are afraid of the unknown. Certainly they don’t speak Spanish, which is the key to getting to know the REAL Tijuana, la ciudad de brazos abiertos. People like those are the worst, making such comments about something/someone they don’t even know. I could be more tolerant of them if they at least knew Tijuana and made such a comment. Have a happy holiday season.

  3. mostlychaff says:

    I don’t think anyone can look at the above pictures and be indifferent about Tijuana. I bet they didn’t see Kinsee’s pictures.

  4. Daniel says:

    Hello… did you and your friend went to Dragon Rojo on saturday night? i touhg i saw you there… to bad that i didn’t dare to say hello, happy birthday any way.

    Forget about the american hassholes, live and let let die🙂 is their lost.

    Dani.

  5. Sacred Indio says:

    You should have left their comments on here (without the FU part) and we would rip them a new one.

    If anything you should publish the email here…

    God Bless Mexico and VIVA USA.

    Saludos,

    Sacred Indio

  6. Michele Guieu says:

    The comment was terrible…

    Your pictures are really strong and beautiful, thank you for posting them. I love your passion for the town you love.
    Happy birthday and holidays!

  7. Alex says:

    I think your blog gives reason for Americans to care about Tijuana. Too bad for our society that we have such elements that breed their ignorance and hate. There is a special place in hell for those people.

    Suddenly I am reminded of this:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pfwT2E6XJ4

  8. d.a. kolodenko says:

    your photos + the city = color!

    wish i coulda celebrated with you, but since i wasn’t there, happy birthday! (by the way, J’s a mensch, congratulations again)

  9. Gabriel Gamez says:

    Hi. I’ve been reading your blog, and I think it’s great. I’ve really enjoyed reading your blogs. I was wondering how you settled in tijuana. I am looking into moving to tijuana. Where are some good places to live that is not too expensive?

    I would really appreciate your feedback.
    Thanks.

  10. Ruth says:

    I have never been to Tiajuana although I came close last year when visiting San Diego but it did not work out. However, I have spent time in Mexico City and the Yucatan Peninsula. Both places I really liked. I would love to spend more time in places like Tiajuana. Please don’t think that commenters like the one you deleted are the norm in the United States.

  11. I care about Tijuana and Mexico, as all Americans should.

    But did you notice how many times Mexico was even mentioned during the presidential and vice-presidential debates last fall? Twice.

    And Afghanistan? I lost count. And Israel? Forget it: You’d think Israel is more important than America itself judging by the way our “leaders” exalt it.

    Great photos, BTW; Good luck in Mexico!

  12. Rene says:

    la especial – my favorite place for breakfast!

    great photos!

  13. mr. mike says:

    “I care about Tijuana and Mexico, as all Americans should.

    But did you notice how many times Mexico was even mentioned during the presidential and vice-presidential debates last fall? Twice.

    And Afghanistan? I lost count. And Israel? Forget it: You’d think Israel is more important than America itself judging by the way our “leaders” exalt it.”
    – Michael Blaine

    They worry about Israel and Afghanistan because: the former is a great customer of our weapons and “strategically important”; the latter is important because the new Obama gov’t. thinks fighting the Taliban is the way to destroy those Al-Queda bases in Waziristan (the tribal part of Pakistan.) Israel has not won a war since 1981 and nobody has ever completely conquered Afghanistan, but it’s all stuff happening far away and not like the “ho-hum” stuff happening in Mexico. Nobody understands that Mexico is a mirror of the US Southwest and a predictor of the future in Southern California.

Leave a Reply

